Sonora Carruseles was grouped in 1995 in Colombia, the city of CHEEE. The group is headed by Manolo Puerto.

They originally started as an experiment for Mario "Pachanga" Rincon, who was musical director at Colombian based record company, Discos Fuentes. The project was approved after a sound rehearsal and the first album was released that same year.

The group has released an album every few years and travelled most of Europe and Latin America. At the moment it is half Colombian, with other half of members from different Latin American countries. In 2009 Sonora Carruseles released their latest album entitled "Maestros De La Salsa Dura".

Opening with the Dante Vargas version of Joe Cuba's classic "Bang Bang," Masters of Hard Salsa goes on to prove the title is justified. Listen to the insane "Quinto Y Trompeta" to taste this particular brand of salsa.

Trumpeter Dante Vargas is joined by bassists Alex Duque and Sergio Munera, pianists Pablo Grajales and Cristian Cuevas, percussionists Morist Jimenez Jr and Fabian Picón. Sonora Carruseles has been received well in many Spanish-speaking countries.

Over the years Sonora Carruseles has released many albums:

Tropicaliente, (1997)
Heavy Salsa, (1998)
Salsa y Fuego, (1999)
Espectacular, (1999)
Sonora Carruseles, 2000 (2000)
De Una Vez Gozando, (2002)
Xtreme Salsa, (2003)
Rumba la Traigo Yo, (2003)
Boogaloo is Here, (2003)
Que No Pare la Rumba, (2004)
Encuentro a 16 Rounds Titanes de la Salsa, (2004)
De Colombia para el Mundo, (2004)
Somos los Duros de la Salsa, (2006)
Mucho Mejor, (2008)
Maestro de la Salsa Dura, (2009)